[]
[]
On Sunday. September 7th, from 9:30AM to 10:00AM the catalog's functionality will be limited to searching only. Login will be disabled for system maintenance.  
The Glenview Public Library and other consortium libraries will be launching a new online catalog in September. Any book lists that patrons have created through the “My Shelves” or “My Lists” feature in this catalog will transfer to the new catalog through August 15. Please be aware that any item added to these lists or any new lists created after August 15 will not transfer to the new system. The Library recommends you print out any changes made to your lists or shelves after August 15 to retain this information.

Floors

Carman, Patrick (Book - 2011 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Floors
Print

Item Details

Ten-year-old Leo's future and the fate of the extraordinary Whippet Hotel, where his father is the maintenance man, are at stake when a series of cryptic boxes leads Leo to hidden floors, strange puzzles, and unexpected alliances.
Authors: Carman, Patrick
Title: Floors
Publisher: New York : Scholastic Press, 2011.
Edition: 1st ed.
Characteristics: 261 p. :,ill. ;,22 cm.
Notes: "Book 1"--spine.
Summary: Ten-year-old Leo's future and the fate of the extraordinary Whippet Hotel, where his father is the maintenance man, are at stake when a series of cryptic boxes leads Leo to hidden floors, strange puzzles, and unexpected alliances.
ISBN: 9780545255196
0545255198
9780545460927
Statement of Responsibility: by Patrick Carman
Subject Headings: Hotels, motels, etc. Fiction. Eccentrics and eccentricities Fiction. Puzzles Fiction. Hotels, motels, etc. Juvenile fiction. Eccentrics and eccentricities Juvenile fiction. Puzzles Juvenile fiction.
Genre/Form: Mystery fiction.
Topical Term: Hotels, motels, etc.
Eccentrics and eccentricities
Puzzles
Hotels, motels, etc.
Eccentrics and eccentricities
Puzzles
LCCN: 2011032516
MARC Display»

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Aug 22, 2014
  • Thedarkking rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Great mystery.
I wonder how all these happened in one small hotel-the picture of the hotel is on the back cover of the book, in case you didn't see.

Aug 02, 2014
  • sdceng1 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

This book has a lot of events that just wants to make you want more , and its just filled with adventures .

Jul 31, 2014
  • firered81 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

In my own personal opinion this is one of Patrick Carman's best books. Willy Wonka plus puzzles and mystery and Ducks!!!!

This book is amazing. It has a great storyline and pulls you in. And, the best part is that it is a quick read! I would definately reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys a book filled with adventures..... and ducks!

Welcome to the very weird, very mysterious, and thoroughly wonderful Whippet Hotel!

Every floor of the old building, where ten-year-old Leo Fillmore helps his father who is the caretaker, contains surprises and secrets. The building has an unusual design, and each room has a different theme. For example, the Pinball Room functions like a giant pinball machine. There is a Robot Room, a Room of Ponds and Caves, and a Duck Elevator.

The hotel’s guests are also quirky, such as the paranoid Captain Rickenbacker, the obsessive author Theodore Bump, and the colony of pumpernickel bread-loving ducks living on the roof.

Now, it appears that someone is trying to sabotage the hotel. Unexpected problems with the building are suddenly popping up everywhere. Merganzer Whippet, the hotel’s eccentric owner and architect, has disappeared. No one has seen or heard from him for a hundred days - and the mean manager, Ms Sparks, is in charge.

One day Leo discovers a mysterious box which proves to be the first of four containing cryptic clues to the hotel’s secrets and Mr. Whippet’s whereabouts. Leo finds himself involved in a mystery which must be solved – before it’s too late.

In following the clues, he encounters hidden floors, strange puzzles, fantastical inventions, nefarious characters, and plenty of surprises - as well as the answers he needs.

Ten-year-old Leo is an appealing, likeable protagonist, and readers will also enjoy the sequel to this imaginative story, entitled 3 Below. Both books would be perfect for fans of Lemony Snickett and Roald Dahl books.

Aug 08, 2013
  • navy_owl_34 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

LOVE THIS BOOK!! JUST FINISHED AND CAN'T WAIT TO GET MY HANDS ON THE NEXT ONE!!!

"Ten-year-old Leo lives in the marvellous Whippet Hotel with his father, the hotel's maintenance man. With the hotel's owner missing and greedy developers after the large tract of land that the Whippet occupies, Leo stumbles upon a cryptic box containing clues that lead to hidden floors, strange puzzles, more boxes, and - hopefully - a way to save the hotel from being demolished. Floors would be great fun even if the author stuck to just describing the hotel's many bizarre rooms (one of which is a giant pinball game), but, not unlike the Whippet, this story is exciting, unusual, and packed with eccentric characters." January 2013 Kids' Books Newsletter http://www.nextreads.com/Display2.aspx?SID=5acc8fc1-4e91-4ebe-906d-f8fc5e82a8e0&N=594050

Jul 03, 2012
  • pegacaticorn95 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A wonderful book! It reminds me of "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory," but it's not ripping off of Roald Dahl in any way. The characters are realistic and likeable, and the ending was very unexpected. It has a very clever twist to it, and nothing impresses me more than clever twists. Definitely worth reading if you like adventure/fantasy-type books.

Jun 26, 2012
  • Yahong_Chi rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

These kind of omniscient-POV, anazingly, crazily imaginative middle-grade fantasies (and they're always MG. Always. Don't even try to argue) rock my world. The Pinball Room, for example: the floor is slanted, the flippers are couches and the balls are as big as bowling balls. Then there's the Cake Room, which always needs A/C or else there'll be a "frosting disaster". So. Awesome.

The omniscient point of view is extremely helpful in developing the protagonist and supporting characters. Leo, a curious, adventurous and sometimes easily frustrated boy, is a real, flawed boy; Remi, the bell boy, sparkles with his enthusiasm and over-eagerness, and the way the two boys learn from each other is so endearing. The rest of the Whippet staff and even the rich guests grow on the reader just as easily, save for Ms. Sparks, perhaps. Her shades of evil are painted a little too dark -- a caricature of a villain.

Floors doesn't lack for touching moments, though the first comes a little too early to make a real impact. The imagination infused in the world-building -- because the Whippet Hotel really is a world of its own -- is practically genius. Seriously, it's like Charlie & the Chocolate Factory meets Hotel for Dogs (only for ducks!).

And the epic reveal at the end, of identities and true homes and families, is exactly in keeping with the rest of the novel -- fabulous, touching and immensely satisfying all at the same time.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

SPL_Childrens thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 12

Jul 16, 2013
  • green_turtle_555 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

green_turtle_555 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at GPL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version red_eye (red_eye) Last updated 2014/08/29 10:58